Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Friday, April 10, 2015

Review: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Title: Endless Knight (The Arcana Chronicles #2)
Author: Kresley Cole
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Pages: 320
Source: Bought from Chapters Indigo


Synopsis: 
In this seductive follow-up to Poison Princess, #1 New York Timesbestselling author Kresley Cole takes us deeper into the dark world of the Arcana Chronicles.

Shocking secrets 
Evie has fully come into her powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. She now knows that the teens who've been reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle. It's kill or be killed, and the future of mankind hangs in the balance.

Unexpected allies 
With threats lurking around every corner, Evie is forced to trust her newfound alliance. Together they must fight not only other Arcana, but also Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals.

Gut-wrenching treachery 
When Evie meets Death, things get even more complicated. Though falling for Jack, she's drawn to the dangerous Endless Knight as well. Somehow the Empress and Death share a history, one that Evie can't remember--but Death can't forget...

My Thoughts:
I loved, loved, LOVED this book. It was an electrifying read. Endless Knight picks up where Poison Princess leaves off; Evie has made her first kill by turning into the Red Witch. Evie and her friends are continuously on the run from bagmen, militia and cannibals. It is very interesting how the flash changed the world and fascinating why there aren’t many women left. I definitely liked this installment better that I did Poison Princess.

In Poison Princess, we see flashes of Death and how evil he was from what Evie can remember or told by Matthew. But in Endless Knight we learn a lot more about Death and his hardships (and of course his first name) and I must say I fell head over heels for him.  I am officially on Team Death! Don’t get me wrong, I still like the Cajun but there is something about Death that made me fall for him; he is complicated and misunderstood among many things. I loved the chemistry between Death and Evie. It is heart pounding and electric, like you never know what is going to happen next in their relationship. One thing I must say is that both Death and Jack are 100% devoted to Evie so it will interesting to see what happens in the love triangle.

We also learn more about the Arcana and the Tarot Cards in Endless Knight. To me, this aspect of story makes the book so unique. This installment was fast paced, and consuming and I just wanted more. I was so impatient sometimes with the pace of my reading that I would peak and try to see what would happen next (I know very bad of me). But I just needed to know what was going to happen. As time passes, we see Evie slowly getting stronger and it shocks me still the things she can do with her powers. If I were one of the Tarot Cards, I definitely would want her to be one of my allies.

The third book, Dead Winter, is already out and I am afraid to read it because I know there will be a cliffhanger at the end of it. I’m not sure I can wait another year to read the fourth book. Kresley Cole (please if possible) write faster. This is such an awesome series!

My Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Raquel 
xoxo

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Review: Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Title: Poison Princess 
Author: Kresley Cole
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Pages: 369
Source: Bought from Chapters Indigo


Synopsis:
She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen-year-old Evangeline "Evie" Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they're still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can't do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can't totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it's not always clear who is on which side.

My Thoughts:
I started reading this book in audiobook version since August 2012 (at least this is what Goodreads told me, lol). I originally starting listening to this book and I found the first part, the part with Arthur, so unbelievably creepy I could not continue with the story so I stopped. It wasn’t until the 3rd book was being released that I decided to buy the hard copy of the book and realized that I should have continued reading it. I don’t even know how to begin this review other than it is so unbelievably good. I honestly could not wait for the times I was able read. This book was addictive, haunting, adventurous and utterly unique.

 In Poison Princess, we see zombies, militia and the apocalypse. It is like a fight to the death where the strongest and smartest will prevail. It kind of reminded me of The Hunger Games where 24 teens had to battle to the death and let me tell you, Poison Princess was utterly captivating. I have to say my favourite thing about this book is Jackson Devereax. That Cajun is one HOT boy. I love the interactions and the intense chemistry between him and Evie. It was electric and sizzling off the pages.

I loved the concept of the novel and the world the author, Kresley Cole, created. This is my first book by the author and it was spectacular. The novel was easy to read and descriptive. I found I always had a clear image of where the characters were and the surrounding area. Most importantly, I believed in the world building the author created. When I opened Poison Princess I truly believed I was in a world where there were hardly any women, bagmen and no food.

 I really enjoyed Evie’s progression in this story. In the beginning, she was very weak but by the end she grew into her own and continued to grow in strength. I think it was necessary for Evie to become stronger with how the world changed and for her to come into her powers.. There are so many lines I loved in this book; I swear half the book has a book tag on it. 

Some of my favourite lines are:
“W-we both know your life would be so much simpler without me! I am just a thorn in your paw."
He nodded easily. "And it reminds me of you - every move I make, I think of you."
My lips parted. Again I realized that he was the only thing in my life that made me feel sane, made me want to fight for a future.
"Evangeline, I've got to feel you with my every step." His shaking hand closed over my nape, squeezing. "Or I go a little crazy, me.” 

“If you touch me like that again, Evangeline,” he began in a husky tone, dropping to his seat once more, “in the space of a heartbeat, I will have you off this bike and onto the closest horizontal surface. And I woan be picky, no.” 

“Damn, cher, you still smell like a blossom. Been so long since I've seen a flower that I'd nearly forgotten what they smelled like." He took a lock of my hair, rubbing it between his thumb and forefinger. "You're dressing up and using expensive perfume? Ole Jack senses a trap. Consider me snared.” 

With lines like these, I know this series is only going to get better and better and I must say I really can’t wait to read the rest.

My Rating: 
4 out of 5 stars

Raquel 
xoxo

Friday, April 25, 2014

Blog Tour: Good Girls Don't Date Rock Stars by Codi Gary

Tour Banne Good Girls Don't Date Rock Stars photo GoodGirlsDontDateRockStarsJPEG_zps84577e46.jpg

GoodGirlsDontDateRockStars

Title: Good Girls Don’t Date Rock Stars 
Author: Codi Gary 
Genre: Contemporary Adult Romance 
Publish Date: April 22, 2014 
Publisher: Avon Impulse an Imprint of HarperCollins 
Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.  

~ Book Synopsis ~
Gemma Carlson didn’t plan on waking up married.
She also didn’t count on running into her old flame—and her son’s father-turned-country-rock star—Travis Bowers, followed by a night of drunken dares. Apparently one of those involved a ring on her finger and a vow…neither of which she intends to keep. Now with a hangover from hell, this good-girl-gone-bad knows there’s just one thing to do: run. Travis has been all over the world, but Gemma has never been far from his thoughts. So when he had the chance to catch up over a few drinks, he didn’t hesitate. Of course he didn’t expect it would lead to marriage, or a runaway bride! Travis finally has a second chance and doesn’t plan on losing Gemma again—or the son he didn’t know he had. He proposes—albeit belatedly—a date. Or rather, a few. If they can make this marriage work by starting over, he stays. If not… Gemma’s not interested; she’s got a son to protect and a heart to heal. But having Travis around could make both a little easier. Still, good girls don’t date rock stars…right?


Purchase Links

Excerpted from GOOD GIRLS DON’T DATE ROCK STARS by Codi Gary

  How many glasses of champagne did I have last night? Gemma Carlson groaned, gritting her teeth against the stabbing pain that seemed to be spreading through her brain. She didn’t want to open her eyes, afraid of what she would find. Right now she was only sure of two things. One, her head hurt like a son of a bitch and two, she was very, very naked. Prying open her right eye, she tried to focus on her surroundings, but instead of seeing intricate, golden wallpaper, she found the walls were now light colored. A couch sat in the corner of the room, though her room had had a tiny office chair and desk. The landscape on the wall was new, too. She opened both eyes, blinking rapidly at the dryness, and realized she had no idea where she was. Which meant she obviously wasn’t in her hotel room. A light snore behind her caught her attention and she stiffened, turning her head slowly to look at her bedmate. She sucked in a breath at the sight of dark curls and a broad back, the only things visible above the heavy comforter. What have I done? Sitting up, she swallowed down the rolling nausea and fought the splitting headache, catching her face in her hands. And then she felt it. Something cool and metal on her finger. Something that definitely shouldn’t be there. Pulling her hands back, she stared at the large three-stone diamond ring on her left index finger and froze.  

My Thoughts:I first wanted to read this book because after I read the description it kind of reminded me of the Stage Dive series. This was definitely a lot different than I thought it was going to be.

Gemma and Travis were best friends turned lovers in high school. When Travis got a huge record deal and went on tour, Gemma found out she was pregnant. Gemma decided not to tell Travis due to an unfortunate incident. Ten years later, she bumps into him at a convention in Las Vegas. Travis will not let Gemma get away a second time. Little did he know that Gemma is keeping a huge secret from him.

First of all, I want to say that I loved Travis. He was really sweet, caring, will stop at nothing to get what he wants and I loved Gemma’s description of him. I must say I wasn’t a big fan of Gemma. I mean I understand she might have been scared about telling Travis she was pregnant but 10 years is way too long to not tell someone something so huge. I thought her reasons for keeping Charlie from Travis were selfish and I didn’t buy into it.

What I loved about the story were the secondary characters like Gracie and Charlie. I am looking forward to Gracie’s book. Charlie is just like his father, smart, sweet kid anyone would love. I loved where the story took place and how the whole town wants to know everyone else’s business. I am curious to find out who the gossip columnist is and how they get their info.

Overall, I found the book to be enjoyable. I wish the book was more in depth so that I can get lost in the characters. This book was more of a summer read to me. Anyone who wants a light read with good smut will enjoy this.

My Rating:
3.5 stars out of 5

About the Author
Codi GaryAn obsessive bookworm, Codi Gary likes to write sexy small-town contemporary romances with humor, grand gestures, and blush-worthy moments. When she's not writing, she can be found reading her favorite authors, squealing over her must-watch shows, and playing with her children. She lives in Idaho with her family
Authors Social Media

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi


Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: February 5, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 461
Source: Purchased from Amazon


Synopsis:
tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it's almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She's finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.


My Thoughts:
I absolutely loved this book. It was over a year ago that I read Shatter Me and I almost forgot how beautiful the author’s writing is. Unravel Me was beautiful, breathtaking and completely addictive. 

Unravel Me starts off right after the events of Shatter Me. Juliette, Adam, Kenji and James has left the Reestablishment and made their way to Omega Point. They are settling in, trying to find their place in the underground city. Juliette is not used to being around people. She has to adjust; has to learn how to have conversations to get to know people around her. She has to think of others and not only herself and how she is feeling. She needs to come out of her head. 

Some of the revelations we find out in this book were shocking. Even now, I still am shocked. And that ending…WOWZERS. 

I loved the world building and the setting. We are reading about a future world where people have powers and the government (The Reestablishment) is trying to control everything. Tahereh Mafi did such an amazing job with all of the descriptions of places; it felt like I was experiencing everything with Juliette. After reading, Destroy Me (which I loved by the way), I liked both Adam and Warner. I couldn’t make up by mind. Even through the first half of Unravel Me, I couldn’t decide. By the end of Unravel Me, I was firmly on one team. Team Warner all the way! I love reading characters with a disturbed past. It makes the person all the more interesting and, boy, did Warner have one. I find him fascinating and I really can’t get enough of him.

He says some of the most beautiful things: 
“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.

I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.” 

*SWOONS* My heart can't take it. Just reading this passage again gives me chills all over again.

Kenji was an unexpected delight in this book. He easily became one of my favourite characters. He provided comic relief when everything was so serious. There are some great character developments in this book. It showed you different sides of the characters which made them easier to like.

I love, love, love the front cover. It encompasses the true meaning of the book. After Juliette reaches Omega Point, it is almost like she is frozen. She still doesn’t know anything about herself. It is almost like she is stuck. She goes through everyday life, following everyone else’s lead. She has not recognized her true potential as yet. By the end, Juliette starts to come in her own. She decides not to be scared anymore and take action.

Unravel Me was an awesome sequel to Shatter Me. It gets you ready for the conclusion of the series. 

My Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Monday, March 17, 2014

Review: Awaken (Spiral of Bliss #3) by Nina Lane

Title: Awaken (Spiral of Bliss #3)
Author: Nina Lane
Release Date: January 7, 2014
Publisher: Self-Published
Pages: 426
Source: Purchased from Amazon


Synopsis:
“I love that you love me, professor.”

“I love loving you, beauty.”


Since their intense, passionate beginning, Professor Dean West and his wife Olivia have fought dark secrets and betrayal in order to save their marriage. Now reeling in the aftermath of a personal tragedy, Liv and Dean are driven further apart by a vindictive threat to Dean’s career.

Struggling to stand on her own for the first time in years, Liv is determined to defend her husband and prove herself. Then an unexpected letter dredges up old insecurities and endangers Liv’s newfound independence. As Dean fights for his professional life, he is forced to confront his worst fear when he discovers that he can’t protect his beloved wife from her own painful past.

My Thoughts:
I am so happy I finally got a chance to read this book. I read the first 2 books late last year, and they were phenomenal so I had high hopes. Well, this book did not disappoint.

Awaken starts off a few days after the events of Allure.  Dean is away in Italy, involved in a dig and trying to stay away from the University and Maggie Hamilton. Liv is still dealing with the miscarriage and trying to stand on her own feet without the help of her husband. She has depended on him for too long and needs her independence.

I first decided to read this series because the main characters were a married couple going through their ups and downs. I have never read that before so I was intrigued when I started the first book. What I got after reading was much, much more. The love between Dean and Liv, they are really no words. It is absolutely breathtaking, captivating and addictive. These words don’t even describe their love correctly. It leaves you breathless. It makes me hope that I will find my Dean. Their story is one of the most amazing and passionate love stories I have ever read. Even now, thinking about it, I want more. The challenges they faced and the way they overcame them by believing in each other and trusting each other, no matter what; it is an epic story I will never forget. Even though I’m sad to see them go, I’m glad they got an HEA.

I loved that the author wrote the story in both Dean and Liv’s POV. It showed what they were each thinking at any given time but more importantly you get a glimpse and see the love they have for one another. Being able to read Dean’s POV made me fall for him harder than I already did.

I loved Nina Lane’s dedication at the beginning of the book:

“This book is for all the readers who love Liv and Dean West as much as I do. This is for those of you who know the courage it takes to trust your instincts and find your way. This is for the women who love being someone’s girl, and for the men who are your heroes. And this is for everyone who believes in the good things—books, a cup of tea, sexy professors, interesting travels that lead you back home, warm quilts, and perfectly imperfect love.
Isn’t this the most unique and greatest dedication you’ve ever read? It is for me because it sets the tone of the book."

The author’s writing was beautiful and kept me wanting more. I loved the cover. The flowers are absolutely beautiful and in bloom and I love how the keys are pointing at different directions but always intersect. It is a great symbol of how Dean and Liv’s love will change but bloom; they will always be with each other through thick and thin. 

My Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Friday, March 14, 2014

Blog Tour: Deep Blue by Jules Barnard


Synopsis:

When Cali Morgan kicks off her perfect post-college summer in Lake Tahoe, she has everything she ever wanted: acceptance into a top law program, a gorgeous boyfriend, and an incredible summer planned with her best friend. Confident about her place in the world, Cali makes it her mission to be her friend’s wingwoman and help her meet guys. What Cali doesn’t count on is running into Jaeger Lang, one of her older brother’s high school friends, or the sparks that fly when she’s around him. Jaeger has changed, and it’s not just the added height and muscle. There’s something about him that’s deep and a little scarred. In spite of the changes, Jaeger becomes a top pick for her friend—if Cali can keep her hands off him.

But when Cali’s boyfriend dumps her and her carefully laid plans begin to unravel, she finds herself questioning what it is she truly desires. In the midst of doubts about her future, one thing is very clear: she wants Jaeger for her own. The question is, has her friend already fallen for him?

Author Bio:
Jules Barnard is originally from the San Francisco Bay Area. She attended UC Davis, whose college landscape often finds its way into her New Adult novels. She has a Master’s degree and spent many an hour running statistical analysis, until she realized her favorite part of the job was writing reports. She decided to cut out the math and add in some hot guys, and so began her career as a novelist.
Jules is a Northern California native living on the coast with her husband and two children. She has no impulse control around cupcakes and credits herself with the ability to read while running on the treadmill or burning dinner.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Thoughts:

Deep Blue starts off with Cali and her best friend Gen, moving to Lake Tahoe after finishing college. They will be working at a casino for the summer. Cali is extremely confident in herself, about to study law at Harvard. She has a hot boyfriend, Eric. Everything is right in her world. When Cali meets Jaeger, sparks fly. They have this instant attraction to one another. Cali has never felt this way about anyone before, not even with Eric. She is also unsure about going to study law and have no idea what to do.

Deep Blue is exactly the kind of book I needed to read at this point in time. It was a light read but still a romance. It is book about becoming an adult and everything that means. Being an adult, there are ups and downs; Cali has never really had to deal with that but after she moved to Lake Tahoe, her whole life changed. From getting dumped, problems with her summer job and completely changing her career path, she is forced to be strong and deal with everything.

I liked Cali as a character. She was smart and her narrative was sometimes laugh-out loud funny. She is extremely loyal to her friends, always wanting what is best for them. I absolutely adored Jaeger. He sounded so HOT by her description of him. I wish we were given the option to read his POV. Through his facial expressions in the beginning when they saw each other again as adults and all throughout the book, I would have liked to know exactly what he was thinking. The chemistry between Cali and Jaeger was so strong. I could feel their connection like it was something tangible.  

 I would gladly read the next book the author writes in the series. I would like to know more about Gen or even a book (or scenes) from Jaeger`s perspective would be awesome as well. We also still have no idea what`s going on with Tyler (Cali`s brother). If you are looking for a romantic book which is a light read with amazing chemistry, Deep Blue is the book for you. 

My Rating:
3.5 Stars




Thursday, February 6, 2014

Review: Fates (Fates #1) by Lanie Bross

Title: Fates
Author: Lanie Bross
Release Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: Random House Children (Delacorte Press)
Pages: 366
Source: Received egalley for review


Synopsis:
Lanie Bross's debut FATES is perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational.

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people's fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again--this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

My Thoughts:
Fates was a mixture of emotions for me. I liked some parts, others parts I was disappointed in. I even teared up in the remaining parts.

Corinth was a Fate. Fates weaves the fabric of life and are almost like seers. They set each soul on the right path or destiny. Corinne is exiled to Humana, what they call the human world Earth, because she was curious about the way things are. Corinthe has been on earth for 10 years waiting to go home to Pyralis. On earth, she is an Executioner. She makes sure Fates of individuals are carried out. Corinthe is given the task to kill a boy, Lucas. This will be her last task before she is able to go home. There is an instant attraction between Corinthe and Lucas. Corinthe will do anything to go home even killing a boy she likes. This is where the story starts.

The first chapter starts off with a bang and left me wanting more. This story went in a direction I didn’t expect it to go. The story had a lot more fantasy than I thought it would. Usually when I read fantasy I need there to be a fair bit of romance as well. This story was mostly fantasy. I didn’t really like that other worlds were introduced, for example, the world with Killer Nymphs or the world with 2 suns.  The worlds did not feel real to me. It didn’t really go with the story or what I thought the story was going to be about. On the other hand, I really liked the underlining premise of the story; everything is centered on Fate or destiny and if something is meant to be it will happen. This is one of the reasons why I wanted to read this book.  In my own life, I strongly believe this.  

I liked the character development in Corinthe. She went from not understanding anything about being human to physically becoming more and more like one. She starts bleeding (which she didn’t do before) and having more emotions she is not used to. She starts to question her beliefs. As a Fate, you do not ask questions, you do what you are told to do and Corinne, after awhile, starts to question everything. She starts to question why things have to be a certain way and if there is anything that can change the outcome. I thought Corinne was very courageous in that way and I thought she was a good heroine.

Another reason I found I didn’t connect with the story is the romance. I could feel Corinne and Lucas attraction to each other but their romance fell short for me. It was like, they have a few conversations and then they were in love. I felt like there could have been more to show why they fell in love with each other.

I want to see where this story goes. How the author left things, it was a cliff hanger yet at the same time it wasn’t. 

Thank You Random House Children and Delacorte Press for providing me with this book for an honest review!

My Rating:
3 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Review: Believe by Erin McCarthy

Title: Believe 
Author: Erin McCarthy
Release Date: January 21, 2014
Publisher: Penguin Group
Pages: 232
Source: Received egalley for review


Synopsis:
Robin used to be a party girl… until she got black out drunk and woke up in bed with her best friend's boyfriend. Now she's faced with being THAT girl, and couldn't be more disgusted with herself. She can't even tell her friends the reason for her sudden sobriety and she avoids everyone until she meets Phoenix—quiet, tattooed, and different in every way that's good and oh, so bad…

Phoenix is two days out of jail when he meets Robin at his cousin's house, and he knows that he has no business talking to her, but he's drawn to her quiet demeanor, sweet smile, and artistic talent. She doesn't care that he's done time, or that he only has five bucks to his name, and she supports his goal to be a tattoo artist.

But Phoenix knows Robin has a secret, and that it's a na├»ve dream to believe that his record won't catch up with them at some point. Though neither is prepared for the explosive result when the past collides with the present…

My Thoughts:
I enjoyed this book. When I requested this book from Netgalley I had no idea it was the 3rd book in the series. This book features Robin and Phoenix Sullivan. They are both broken in one way or the other. When they meet, they recognize the loneliness in each other and form a deep connection.

Robin was a party girl. She went to parties, drank a lot of alcohol to have a good time. One unfortunate night of being plastered and she wakes up naked to Nathan, one of her best friend’s boyfriend. She is horrified, (as she should be), embarrassed and humiliated. She retreats into herself in order in order to cope with what she has done. I thought Robin was ok as a character. I liked her in the beginning until I got to the end of the story. I thought she was a little annoying and her logic for leaving Phoenix to go to her parents’ house was crappy.

I adored Phoenix. I really enjoyed his POV. Phoenix has been through a lot in his life. Yes, the situations he has been through did harden him to a point but he is also very gentle and sweet. My heart ached for him. Phoenix and Robin are a great match. They make each other better. The romance was so sweet but subtle. I liked that they were just spending time with each other with no strings attached. They needed comfort in the other before anything else could happen.

This book kept me interested; I really wanted to see how it would end. I thought it was really weird how Phoenix’s mother changed drastically in a short period of time. First she wanted nothing to do with him and all of a sudden she is giving him advice and crying when he goes away. VERY WEIRD…I wish there could have been something more to facilitate the change in her character.

Believe is a story about 2 people needing redemption and acceptance for their past mistakes. I am happy I was given the chance to read this story. It is unique from everything I have read. I definitely would read the next book when it comes out.


Thanks you Penguin for sending me this book for an honest review!

My Rating:
3 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Review: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion #1) by Aimee Carter

Title: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion #1)
Author: Aimee Carter
Release Date: November 26, 2013
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 346
Source: Received egalley for review


Synopsis:

YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING.


For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister's niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There's only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that's not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she's only beginning to understand.

Previously titled Masked.

My Thoughts:

I have not read much Dystopian so Pawn was a rare treat for me. This world Aimee Carter has created is all about a single test that decides the rest of your life. If you don’t do well on the test, your whole life is ruined. You are defined by the test. For Kitty, who is not able to read, she is given a III.  In this world, you have to get a IV or above to have a decent life. She decides to run away instead and it isn’t until she is Masked to look like the Prime Minister’s niece Lila Hart that the story actually starts.

Pawn is an awesome mixture of intrigue, betrayal and manipulation. It shows you that even the most powerful family may appear perfect in public but truly is corrupt to the core. Although I thought some parts were predictable, I thought it was still pretty good; other parts of the story kept me on my toes. I am still shocked by some of the things that happened. I mean, I knew some of the events were going to happen but I am still shocked nonetheless.

You really can’t trust anyone in the world of Pawn. Things always seem or appear one way but end up being totally different. Everyone is out for themselves and Kitty ends up right in the middle of it. She is used like a chess piece, everyone wanting her to do different things. Daxton (Prime Minister) and Augusta (his mother) wants to control Kitty while Celia (Lila’s mother) wants her to help carry out her revenge. There are so many elements to this story.

 I really liked Kitty. She is smart, strong, outspoken and determined. She does what is right while trying to protect the ones she loves. In less than 2 weeks, she has to learn everything about Lila: her mannerisms, her accent, and her voice, basically everything about Lila to convince everyone that she is the beloved niece of the Prime Minister. Everywhere she turns, Kitty is faced with threats and conspiracies.

 I liked that the book focused on action although I would have liked to have seen a little more romance in the story. The author’s writing was seamless. Pawn was an engaging read that all dystopian lovers will enjoy. A book based on betrayal, manipulation and political intrigue, this is not a story I will forget anytime soon. 

Thank you Harlequin Teen for sending me this book for an honest review.

My Rating: 
4 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Review: Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Title: Born Wicked
Author: Jessica Spotswood
Release Date: February 7, 2012
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Pages: 330
Source: Bought from Chapters Indigo


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)
A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they're witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship--or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother's diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family's destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren't safe--not even from each other.


My Thoughts:
Born Wicked is a great story of what one person will sacrifice to protect herself and her family. I read this story slowly because I wanted to savor and enjoy it. I believe this is the first book about witches I have read since the Harry Potter books and I am so happy I did because it was awesome.

Born Wicked starts off with Cate and her sisters, Maura and Tess, who are powerful witches. After their Mother died, Cate is left in charge of protecting her sisters from The Brotherhood. She thought she was doing a good job until a mysterious letter arrive that changes Cate’s world and she starts to question everything.

I absolutely loved Cate. She is smart, outspoken, selfless, and extremely protective of her sisters. She knows (kind of) when to fight for what’s right and when to let things go. Cate is also a worry-wart.  She worries about everything and she has every right to. She has to choose if she is going to marry or join the sisterhood, and also about her sisters doing magic and getting caught, she has A LOT on her plate.

Another thing I loved about this book is the boys. In the beginning of the novel, I really liked Paul. But then he said some things that made me changed my feelings about him a little. Also, I fell hard for Finn. He became the object of my affection. It’s like he could see into Cate’s soul. He is sweet, caring, and fiercely protective of the ones he loves. Who couldn’t love a guy like that? I just could not get enough of him in this book.

I really didn’t like the ending. I was shocked at how everything played out and it took me a couple of days to get over it. I hated the fact that Cate had to give up everything, all her hopes, her dreams and I was really sad about that. But I am extremely excited for the second book. Cate and her sisters live in an extremely dangerous time to be a witch. I know Star Cursed, book 2, will be awesome as well. 

My Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo


Thursday, October 3, 2013

Blog Tour: Found in You by Laurelin Paige



Title: Found in You (Fixed #2)
Author: Laurelin Paige
Release date: October 1, 2013
Publisher: Mandevilla Press
Age Group: Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Tour organized by: AToMR Tours; http://atomrbookblogtours.com


Book Description:
Alayna Withers has only had one kind of relationship: the obsessive, crazy stalker kind. Now that Hudson Pierce has let her into his heart, she’s determined to stay away from her past tendencies and develop their love into more than just amazing sex. At least Hudson is as dedicated to her as she is to him, though she could do without his new found jealousy and need to control everything. To complicate matters, Hudson has his own baggage including a penchant for mind games and a hateful alcoholic mother who’s set on destroying any happiness he might find with Alayna.

Needing insight, Alayna turns to an unlikely source—Celia Werner. Celia’s been in love with Hudson herself and knows how to ride the rocky waves of the emotionally closed-off man. But when Celia’s true motivations behind their friendship are revealed, Hudson’s commitment might not be as solid as Alayna thinks, and even their all-consuming passion for each other isn’t enough to fix their mistrusts. This is the first relationship where Alayna hasn’t spiraled out of control. And she might lose Hudson anyway…


My Thoughts:
I read the first book, Fixed on You and I absolutely loved it, so when I found out there was going to be a second book tour, I could not wait to sign up; and I have to say, this book did not disappoint. I could not get enough of Alayna and Hudson. 

We start off with Alayna going to Hudson’s apartment after her shift at the club. She is extremely nervous because she is the first woman Hudson has invited there. One thing, I adored about with this book, we learn just how twisted both Alayna and Hudson were. I think their pasts prepared them for each other because I don’t think anyone else would be able to understand why they are the way they are. I don’t think anyone else is better suited.

My first impression of the book would have to be that it is focused on trust. Trust between Alayna and Hudson and if they really have what it takes to have a healthy relationship. One thing that bugged me about this book was the fact that Alayna kept so many secrets from Hudson. I mean, he would definitely find out one way or another, after all this is Hudson Pierce. He knows everything.

I absolutely loved Hudson. He is domineering, alpha male, sexy and commands every room he enters. He has never loved any woman in his life but everything changes when he meets Alayna. She is the exception. I loved that he stood by her no matter what. If Alayna needed help in any way he would help her. I think after that moment I liked him even more. One thing I am really looking to is Hudson actually saying “I love you” to Alayna. In Found in You, he expresses it through his actions but it will be momentous when he does. January 2014 really can’t come fast enough for the third book to be released.

My Rating:
4 out of 5 stars

About the Author :
Laurelin Paige is a sucker for a good romance and gets giddy anytime there’s kissing, much to the embarrassment of her three daughters. Her husband doesn’t seem to complain, however. When she isn’t reading or writing sexy stories, she’s probably singing, watching Mad Men and the Walking Dead, or dreaming of Adam Levine. She is represented by Bob Diforio of D4EO Literary Agency.

Author social media links:



To see other stops on the tour for reviews, guest posts, and excerpts click here or the tour button below.


Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Review: Beauty from Surrender (Beauty #2) by Georgia Cates

Title: Beauty from Surrender (Beauty #2)
Author: Georgia cates
Release Date: May 30, 2013
Publisher: Self-published
Pages: 277
Source: Bought from Amazon/Kindle


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)
How do you move on when he’s every song you sing?

After Laurelyn Prescott walks away from the love of her life, she returns to Nashville to pursue the only dream she has left. Determined to find a distraction from the pain of losing Jack Henry, she immerses herself in her music. But with her old life comes old acquaintances and new expectations. When Laurelyn refuses her record producer’s outrageous demands, she finds herself without a career—until an unforeseen opportunity presents itself. From there it’s a rocket ride straight to the top where Laurelyn finds the success she’s always dreamed of. Will it be enough to bring her the happiness she so deserves, or will the absence of Jack Henry leave her wanting more?

Jack Henry McLachlan never expected to fall in love with Laurelyn Prescott—but he did. After he foolishly let her slip through his fingers, he spends three months searching for her, but their reunion doesn’t come easy. The woman he finds isn’t the same one who drifted away without a goodbye. No longer an insecure girl on an Australian adventure, this Laurelyn is a successful musician with a promising career. Her dreams are becoming a reality, and Jack is terrified his American girl won’t have a place for him in her new life. With only a month to convince her otherwise, will it be enough time to make her visualize a life beyond the glitz and glamour, a life that includes him?


My Thoughts:
Beauty from Surrender takes place 1 week after Laurelyn leaves Australia without saying goodbye. Jack Henry is heart broken because he realizes he loves her and didn’t get a chance to tell her. Laurelyn misses Jack Henry so much she begins to become depressed. As Jack Henry beings his search for the love of his life, Laurelyn gets a chance to make it big in the country music industry. Laurelyn must decide what she wants; a life pursuing her dreams or spending her life with Jack Henry.

I could not her enough of Laurelyn and Jack Henry. They are so cute together. I love Jack Henry in this book although I did find him to be a little too sappy at times. I don’t remember him being even remotely sappy in Beauty from Pain (book #1). At the same time, I really liked the fact that one woman can change Jack Henry’s views. Previously, he was against marriage and having kids but since he met Laurelyn, he wants those things with her.

I absolutely loved Jack Henry’s mom. She is hilarious in this book. I found myself laughing out loud a lot when she was around. My favourite quote actually includes Jack Henry, Laurelyn and his mom:

“I know and if it does, it just does. By the way, you should know now that I’m not using rubbers on our honeymoon. Forget it. It’s not happening.” There. She has her warning.
“I know. I have some other stuff, but it’s useless if you don’t give me a chance to put it in.”
“Next time, babe. We won’t be in a rush.” We’re trying to beat the Margaret alarm.
“Next time, I’ll be your wife.” Wow. I hadn’t thought of that.
There’s a pounding at the bedroom door, followed by my mum’s voice. “I know you’re in there, you little shit, and I’m giving you two minutes to shut it down, get dressed, and get out of there.”
We look at each other in the mirror and laugh as we simultaneously say, “Busted.”

I loved how Jack Henry supported Laurelyn and allowed her to experience life on tour before she went back to him. He didn’t hold her back; he supported her in her dreams even though they may be apart for awhile. He knew Laurelyn would come back to him eventually.

2014 really can’t come fast enough, that is when the 3rd book in the series will be out. I am so excited for it.

My Rating:
4 out of 5 stars
Raquel
xoxo