Friday, February 7, 2014

White Hot Kiss Blast





Want a WHITE HOT KISS by Jennifer L. Armentrout t-shirt?

Here is your chance!

There are only 50 available and it features one of Jennifer L. Armentrout's favorite quotes from the book!

Note: The t-shirts only print and ship once all 50 have been purchased.





Don't want a t-shirt? You can get a hoodie, v-neck or long sleeve. :)

Get yours today!
http://teespring.com/WHITEHOTKISS

Are you attending the White Hot Kiss Exclusive dinner party in NYC on March 1st? Bring your t-shirts with you! Take photos in them, or get them signed!




Also, don't miss your chance to get a signed copy of WHITE HOT KISS!

http://www.goodchoicereading.com/2014/01/WHKONLINESALES.html



Thursday, February 6, 2014

Review: Fates (Fates #1) by Lanie Bross

Title: Fates
Author: Lanie Bross
Release Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: Random House Children (Delacorte Press)
Pages: 366
Source: Received egalley for review


Synopsis:
Lanie Bross's debut FATES is perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational.

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people's fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again--this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

My Thoughts:
Fates was a mixture of emotions for me. I liked some parts, others parts I was disappointed in. I even teared up in the remaining parts.

Corinth was a Fate. Fates weaves the fabric of life and are almost like seers. They set each soul on the right path or destiny. Corinne is exiled to Humana, what they call the human world Earth, because she was curious about the way things are. Corinthe has been on earth for 10 years waiting to go home to Pyralis. On earth, she is an Executioner. She makes sure Fates of individuals are carried out. Corinthe is given the task to kill a boy, Lucas. This will be her last task before she is able to go home. There is an instant attraction between Corinthe and Lucas. Corinthe will do anything to go home even killing a boy she likes. This is where the story starts.

The first chapter starts off with a bang and left me wanting more. This story went in a direction I didn’t expect it to go. The story had a lot more fantasy than I thought it would. Usually when I read fantasy I need there to be a fair bit of romance as well. This story was mostly fantasy. I didn’t really like that other worlds were introduced, for example, the world with Killer Nymphs or the world with 2 suns.  The worlds did not feel real to me. It didn’t really go with the story or what I thought the story was going to be about. On the other hand, I really liked the underlining premise of the story; everything is centered on Fate or destiny and if something is meant to be it will happen. This is one of the reasons why I wanted to read this book.  In my own life, I strongly believe this.  

I liked the character development in Corinthe. She went from not understanding anything about being human to physically becoming more and more like one. She starts bleeding (which she didn’t do before) and having more emotions she is not used to. She starts to question her beliefs. As a Fate, you do not ask questions, you do what you are told to do and Corinne, after awhile, starts to question everything. She starts to question why things have to be a certain way and if there is anything that can change the outcome. I thought Corinne was very courageous in that way and I thought she was a good heroine.

Another reason I found I didn’t connect with the story is the romance. I could feel Corinne and Lucas attraction to each other but their romance fell short for me. It was like, they have a few conversations and then they were in love. I felt like there could have been more to show why they fell in love with each other.

I want to see where this story goes. How the author left things, it was a cliff hanger yet at the same time it wasn’t. 

Thank You Random House Children and Delacorte Press for providing me with this book for an honest review!

My Rating:
3 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Review: Believe by Erin McCarthy

Title: Believe 
Author: Erin McCarthy
Release Date: January 21, 2014
Publisher: Penguin Group
Pages: 232
Source: Received egalley for review


Synopsis:
Robin used to be a party girl… until she got black out drunk and woke up in bed with her best friend's boyfriend. Now she's faced with being THAT girl, and couldn't be more disgusted with herself. She can't even tell her friends the reason for her sudden sobriety and she avoids everyone until she meets Phoenix—quiet, tattooed, and different in every way that's good and oh, so bad…

Phoenix is two days out of jail when he meets Robin at his cousin's house, and he knows that he has no business talking to her, but he's drawn to her quiet demeanor, sweet smile, and artistic talent. She doesn't care that he's done time, or that he only has five bucks to his name, and she supports his goal to be a tattoo artist.

But Phoenix knows Robin has a secret, and that it's a na├»ve dream to believe that his record won't catch up with them at some point. Though neither is prepared for the explosive result when the past collides with the present…

My Thoughts:
I enjoyed this book. When I requested this book from Netgalley I had no idea it was the 3rd book in the series. This book features Robin and Phoenix Sullivan. They are both broken in one way or the other. When they meet, they recognize the loneliness in each other and form a deep connection.

Robin was a party girl. She went to parties, drank a lot of alcohol to have a good time. One unfortunate night of being plastered and she wakes up naked to Nathan, one of her best friend’s boyfriend. She is horrified, (as she should be), embarrassed and humiliated. She retreats into herself in order in order to cope with what she has done. I thought Robin was ok as a character. I liked her in the beginning until I got to the end of the story. I thought she was a little annoying and her logic for leaving Phoenix to go to her parents’ house was crappy.

I adored Phoenix. I really enjoyed his POV. Phoenix has been through a lot in his life. Yes, the situations he has been through did harden him to a point but he is also very gentle and sweet. My heart ached for him. Phoenix and Robin are a great match. They make each other better. The romance was so sweet but subtle. I liked that they were just spending time with each other with no strings attached. They needed comfort in the other before anything else could happen.

This book kept me interested; I really wanted to see how it would end. I thought it was really weird how Phoenix’s mother changed drastically in a short period of time. First she wanted nothing to do with him and all of a sudden she is giving him advice and crying when he goes away. VERY WEIRD…I wish there could have been something more to facilitate the change in her character.

Believe is a story about 2 people needing redemption and acceptance for their past mistakes. I am happy I was given the chance to read this story. It is unique from everything I have read. I definitely would read the next book when it comes out.


Thanks you Penguin for sending me this book for an honest review!

My Rating:
3 out of 5 stars

Raquel
xoxo